First Day of Lifts!

30 May

Being that “Pop-Up Video” Jersey Shore is on, followed by Real Housewives of New Jersey… I won’t be getting anything done today (I guess I like New Jersey?).  Good news is I can blog it up and discover who else is out there; Please let yourselves be known!

But I guess this is my first ‘real’ post so let’s get started!

Yesterday was my first day lifting in a month.  After 4 years of rigorous track and field lifts and workouts, I’m ready to get started on MY OWN workout plan and begin my quest to get lean!

As I stated, I will be tracking my progress, so HERE is my “before” picture:

“Before” Pictures

Yesterday started with these: 

Banana Protein Pancakes with Almond Butter

How it Happened: 

1/2 Cup Oatmeal, 1 scoop protein, 1 egg, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 banana

And now for the LEGS workout…

-20 min warm-up on the elliptical 

-3x15x30lbs Kettlebell swings

-3×10 2 Leg Swiss Ball curls

-3×15 Swiss Ball Squats

-2x10x80lbs Dead Lifts

-2x12ea Side Leg Raises 

-3x5x85 Hang Cleans

+ABS and Stretch

Yesterday’s workout took less than an hour, but still left me sore today! Afterwards, I grabbed a snack and my friends and I went for a hike for about an hour 🙂

Any tips? Comments? Questions? Let me know!

+I’ll post my 3-week workout plan in the very near future!

Michelle

*ps. Can someone please help me put the blogs I follow onto my blogroll? They’re not showing up! Thanks!! -M

5 Responses to “First Day of Lifts!”

  1. Tara May 30, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    Hi Michelle, thanks for commenting on my blog 🙂 Your workout looks pretty good – but cut down your warm up to 5 minutes and add in some dynamic stretches instead. You shouldn’t do too much cardio before you lift.

    • Michelle.Workitout May 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      Thanks! I’m so used to doing crazy workouts before lifting because of track, I’m still getting used to real-life workouts!

  2. Natalie @ FreshLifeFindings May 30, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    These pancakes looks so good! And I could literally spend all day watching Jersey Shore.. it’s so awful it’s addicting.
    And for the blog roll:
    Go to Dashboard> Links> Add New
    It should add under your Blogroll when you save them in there

  3. Kate @ Work in Progress May 31, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Hey Michelle! I just found your blog, and what you’re doing is SO awesome. I love that you’re sharing it too. I’m an endurance athlete (distance running and cycling, probably only a matter of time before I go triathlete) and just got a new job as an endurance sports coach, so if you want to get into any of that and have questions don’t hesitate to ask! 🙂

    • Michelle.Workitout May 31, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      Yes! That would be awesome… I learn best from others’ advice and I think this is one of the best ways to do it, I’ll definitely use you as a resource! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

